The Solomon Islands is a country consisting of six major islands and over 900 small islands in the South Pacific.  It has an exclusive economic zone of about 1,600,000 km2. At a meeting of 12 ministries in 2016 a decision was taken that the Solomon Islands needs integrated ocean resource management, including MSP.  An Ocean Technical Working Group has been established to develop roadmaps for the types of government interventions needed.  The working group has developed objectives, reviewed legislation that supports integrated ocean governance, developed a MSP database, mapped use conflicts, and has begun to conduct technical studies to describe the marine environment of the Solomon Islands.

The governmental body responsible for MSP in the Solomon Islands is the Ministry of Environment, Climate Change, Disaster Management and Meteorology.

MSP work in the Solomon Islands is supported by the Marine and Coastal Biodiversity Management in Pacific Island Countries (MACBIO) project being implemented by Pacific Island countries, GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit) and IUCN-Oceania with support from SPREP (Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environmental Programme). Financial support is from the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety.

Solomon Islands has one World Heritage marine site: East Rennell, currently inscribed on the List of World Heritage in Danger.

Updates will be posted on this website as MSP activities in Solomon Islands develop.

Last updated: August 2018